The new Department of Physics was established in 2012. This step was the natural continuation after nearly 40 years, during which its researchers had been engaged in many key sectors, ranging from cosmology to nuclear, molecular and atomic spectroscopy, from supercomputing and simulation of complex systems, biophysics, organic chemistry, research in education, from gravitation to solid state physics, nano-science and medical physics. The courses in physics offered by the past Faculty, are now entrusted to the Department, which coordinates a three-year degree and a Master, a School of PhD and offers various courses to the whole University, as well as a training for future secondary school teachers.

The current staff of the Department consists of about 50 researchers and professors along with about 40 units of technical and administrative staff. About 40 PhD students and several fellows and visitors are also associated with our Department.

There are various forms of scientific collaborations and participations in research projects between the Department and important organizations and agencies, such as the INFN (National Institute for Nuclear Physics), the CNR (National Research Council), ASI (Italian Space Agency), ESA (European Space Agency), and the European Union. Significant funds also come from private, local companies engaged in scientific and technological research and the dissemination of scientific culture, such as the Fondazione Bruno Kessler, the Edmund Mach Foundation, the MUSE, ECT * (European Centre for Theoretical Studies in Nuclear Physics and Related Areas) and other institutions headed by, among others, the Department of Knowledge of the Autonomous Province of Trento.